Pollard, Raina, Watson, Sharma – Past IPL Heroes

Stars recognised by IPL awards

Suresh Raina playing for India

At the end of each IPL season, a special award is handed out to the Player of the Final for that year. The man that made the biggest difference when it mattered most is among those honoured and gets his name added to a prestigious list.

Other IPL awards handed out at the end of each season include the Orange Cap for the top run-scorer, Purple Cap for highest wicket-taker, the player with the most sixes, the emerging player of the year and the overall player of the tournament.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply
Bonus type Money Back If First Bet Loses
Min deposit €1
Bonus details Money back up to €25 or equivalent currency
Wagering requirements None

IPL followers can bet on who they think will take such awards at the very start of the tournament.

Betting on these markets can add extra interest to the tournament for Indian Premier League followers. We will have all the latest odds and free tips ahead of the new IPL season.

Best Betting Sites for the IPL

Seeking out the very the best sites for betting on the IPL in India is vital for cricket fans. There are many online bookmakers that will welcome Indian cricket followers, with many having special offers and other bonuses already in place.

These betting sites are perfect when looking to bet on the IPL. Deposits and withdrawals can be made in Rupees and there is a wide variety of markets to choose from.

The best betting sites for the IPL also welcome a wide range of payment options, from credit and debit cards to e-wallets and bank transfers.

Top 5 IPL Betting Sites

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • Initial bet at odds of 1.80 or more (excluding horse racing) to qualify.
  • Bets must be placed on a mobile device.
  • Minimum stake of ₹1500.
  • Free bet stakes not included in any returns.
  • Free bets are valid for 7 days.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 15x rollover requirement on bonus funds and initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of at least 1.50 or more will count.
  • ₹1000 minimum deposit.
  • Bonus expires after 45 days.

Open an account with bet365 today and bet on a huge range of markets with the world’s favourite online sports betting company. 18+. Full terms and conditions apply. https://Begambleaware.org. https://www.gamblingtherapy.org/

Bonus Terms

  • 12x rollover requirement on initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of 1.20 or more will contribute.
  • Minimum deposit of ₹400.
  • Bets must settle within 30 days.
  • Bet Credit stakes not included in any returns.
  • Registration required.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 12x wagering requirement on bonus and first deposit.
  • Bets at odds of 1.60 or more will count.
  • Use bonus code IPL15TH
  • Minimum deposit of ₹1000.
  •  200% bonus up to ₹15,000.
  • After completing requirements, get 15 free spins on Wild Wickets game.
  • Bonus expires after 15 days.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • Minimum $10 real money bet to qualify.
  • Minimum odds of 1.50 or more.
  • Free bet stake not included in any returns.
  • Skrill, Neteller and paysafecard deposits are excluded,
  • Free bets valid for 7 days,

The player of the final makes IPL memories

Have someone capable of shining on the biggest stage can be the difference between a team getting over the line or failing at the final hurdle.

Having a star man in the ranks for the big occasion is the reason franchises battle it out at the IPL Auction to land their top target. A player stepping up in the final will have a big say in which team takes the overall title. Looking at the line-ups could offer a clue to where the trophy ends up.

Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians are the joint-favourites to secure the 2020 title. They are both made 5.00 (4/1) chances with bet365. Chennai Super Kings are the third-favourites at 6.00 (5/1). Behind them are Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders all at 8.00 (7/1). King's XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals are the outsiders at 10.00 (9/1).

The tournament’s best players rise to the top

The cricketer given the award following the very first IPL final in 2008 was Yusuf Pathan of Rajasthan Royals. He helped his team defeat the Chennai Super Kings by three wickets in Navi Mumbai. Pathan took three wickets for 22 runs as Chennai were limited to 163. He then smashed 56 off 39 balls as the Royals came out on top.

The 2009 award is the only time the honour has been given to a player on the losing team. It was given to Anil Kumble despite the fact his team, Royal Challengers Bangalore, lost to Deccan Chargers. He took 4-16 with the ball for RCB.

It’s no surprise to see prolific title winners Mumbai Indians with the most players in this awards category. Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma, Krunal Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have all been named players of the final while in the MI colours.

No players has yet won the award on more than one occasion.

Past IPL Players of the Final

Year Player Team
2008 Yusuf Pathan RR
2009 Anil Kumble RCB
2010 Suresh Raina CSK
2011 Murali Vijay CSK
2012 Manvinder Bisla KKR
2013 Keiron Pollard MI
2014 Manish Pandey KKR
2015 Rohit Sharma MI
2016 Ben Cutting SRH
2017 Krunal Pandya MI
2018 Shane Watson CSK
2019 Jasprit Bumrah MI


Key men back to make a difference in 2020

A number of previous Player of Final award winners will return for IPL 13.

Last year’s winner Jasprit Bumrah, 2013 winner Keiron Pollard, 2017 winner Krunal Pandya and 2015 winner Rohit Sharma will again be hoping to guide MI to title success. Shane Watson, who won in 2018, and 2010 winner Suresh Raina are with CSK once more. Manish Pandey was named player of the final in 2014 with Kolkata Knight Riders but will be hoping that experience will benefit Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2020.


New title

Chris is passionate about all forms of cricket and loves writing about the sport. He has a background in both sport and news journalism and has written cricket and other sports content for several years now. Chris has written about all levels of the game from regional club cricket in England to the international stage. He now brings that experience to the iGaming industry where he combines it with his love of betting. Chris loves to bet on many different sports, but particularly enjoys seeking out the best value bets on offer and passing that on through his coverage.