Malinga, Morkel, Bravo, Kumar – The IPL’s Purple Cap stars

Bowlers back for more in 2020

Lasith Malinga playing for Sri Lanka

The IPL Purple Cap is handed out to the player that takes the most wickets in a single season.

The Purple Cap was launched in the Indian Premier League’s inaugural campaign in 2008 and has seen some famous names take home the honour.

As with the Orange Cap for the top run-scorer, the Purple Cap is also worn by the current leader while fielding and awarded to the overall winner at the end of the season.

Other end-of-season IPL awards include the player with the most sixes, the most valuable player and the emerging player of the year.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 15x rollover requirement on bonus funds and initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of at least 1.50 or more will count.
  • ₹1000 minimum deposit.
  • Bonus expires after 45 days.

IPL fans can bet on who they think will take each award at the start of the tournament.

Betting on these markets can add more interest for cricket fans as the campaign develops. We will have all the latest odds ahead of the new IPL season as soon as they become available.

Best Betting Sites for the IPL

Finding the best sites for betting on the IPL in India is vital for cricket followers.

There are a lot of online bookmakers that welcome Indian residents, with many making sure to have special welcome offers in place.

These betting sites are great for having a bet on the IPL. Deposits and withdrawals can be made in Rupees, meaning instant access to your funds.

The best betting sites for the IPL welcome a wide range of payment options, from credit and debit cards to e-wallets and bank transfers.

Top 5 IPL Betting Sites

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • Initial bet at odds of 1.80 or more (excluding horse racing) to qualify.
  • Bets must be placed on a mobile device.
  • Minimum stake of ₹1500.
  • Free bet stakes not included in any returns.
  • Free bets are valid for 7 days.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 15x rollover requirement on bonus funds and initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of at least 1.50 or more will count.
  • ₹1000 minimum deposit.
  • Bonus expires after 45 days.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 12x wagering requirement on bonus and first deposit.
  • Bets at odds of 1.60 or more will count.
  • Use bonus code IPL15TH
  • Minimum deposit of ₹1000.
  •  200% bonus up to ₹15,000.
  • After completing requirements, get 15 free spins on Wild Wickets game.
  • Bonus expires after 15 days.

Best bowlers to influence IPL title hopes

It is also worth considering who you think the main bowlers will be ahead of the new season when looking to bet on the overall winner.

Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians are the joint-favourites to bag title glory in 2020. They are both considered 5.00 (4/1) chances with bet365.

Chennai Super Kings are the third-favourites at 6.00 (5/1). Behind them come Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders at 8.00 (7/1).

King's XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals are the outsiders at 10.00 (9/1).

Wicket-taking stars to take home the IPL Purple Cap

The first winner of the Purple Cap at the end of the 2008 season was Pakistan bowler Sohail Tanvir. He won it during his only appearance in the IPL.

Bowlers to pick up the Purple Cap on more than one occasion are West Indian Dwayne Bravo, who won it in 2013 and 2015, and Indian Bhuvneshwar Kumar. He won back-to-back Purple Caps in 2016 and 2017.

Once again, do make sure you check back for all the odds ahead of the 2020 season. There could be some value to be found by identifying the top wicket-taker on the eve of the next tournament.

Past IPL Purple Cap winners

Year Player Wickets
2008 Sohail Tanvir 22
2009 R.P Singh 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha 21
2011 Lasith Malinga 28
2012 Morne Morkel 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo 32
2014 Mohit Sharma 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo 26
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 23
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 26
2018 Andrew Tye 24
2019 Imran Tahir 26

Bowlers targeting more wickets in IPL 13

A host of previous Purple Cap winners will be back for the next edition of the IPL looking to take even more wickets this time around.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar will again be with Sunrisers Hyderabad, Imran Tahir and Dwayne Bravo will play for Chennai Super Kings, Andrew Tye for Rajasthan Royals, and Lasith Malinga for Mumbai Indians.

New title

Chris is passionate about all forms of cricket and loves writing about the sport. He has a background in both sport and news journalism and has written cricket and other sports content for several years now. Chris has written about all levels of the game from regional club cricket in England to the international stage. He now brings that experience to the iGaming industry where he combines it with his love of betting. Chris loves to bet on many different sports, but particularly enjoys seeking out the best value bets on offer and passing that on through his coverage.