Warner, Gayle – Who are the IPL’s Orange Cap Winners?

Batsmen target awards in IPL 2020

David Warner in action for Australia

At the end of each Indian Premier League season, the best players are highlighted with a host of coveted prizes.

The famous Orange Cap is handed to the league’s top run-scorer.

Other awards honour the Purple Cap for the top wicket-taker, the player with the maximum sixes, the most valuable player and the emerging player of the year.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 15x rollover requirement on bonus funds and initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of at least 1.50 or more will count.
  • ₹1000 minimum deposit.
  • Bonus expires after 45 days.

IPL fans can bet on who they think will take each award at the start of the tournament.

Betting on these markets adds extra spice to an already action-packed campaign. We will have all the latest odds on the new IPL season as soon as they become available.

Best Betting Sites for the IPL

Finding the best sites for betting on the IPL in India is vital for cricket fans.

Plenty of online bookmakers welcome Indian residents, with some even putting special welcome offers in place.

These betting sites are great for the IPL. Deposits and withdrawals can be made in Rupees, meaning instant access to your funds.

The best betting sites for the IPL welcome a wide range of payment options, from credit and debit cards to e-wallets and bank transfers.

Top 5 IPL Betting Sites

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • Initial bet at odds of 1.80 or more (excluding horse racing) to qualify.
  • Bets must be placed on a mobile device.
  • Minimum stake of ₹1500.
  • Free bet stakes not included in any returns.
  • Free bets are valid for 7 days.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 15x rollover requirement on bonus funds and initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of at least 1.50 or more will count.
  • ₹1000 minimum deposit.
  • Bonus expires after 45 days.

New Customers Only | 18+ | T&Cs apply

Bonus Terms

  • 12x wagering requirement on bonus and first deposit.
  • Bets at odds of 1.60 or more will count.
  • Use bonus code IPL15TH
  • Minimum deposit of ₹1000.
  •  200% bonus up to ₹15,000.
  • After completing requirements, get 15 free spins on Wild Wickets game.
  • Bonus expires after 15 days.

Top batsmen to have big say in IPL title race

Looking at who has won the awards in the past can be a big clue to who can take the Orange Cap in 2020. In some cases, the awards have been won by the same player on more than one occasion, which you can see below.

The top players and award winners usually also have a big say in which team wins the IPL title.

It is worth considering who you think the main men will be ahead of the new season when looking to bet on the overall winner.

Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad are currently considered the joint-favourites to take victory in 2020. They are both considered 5.00 (4/1) chances with bet365.

Chennai Super Kings are the third-favourites at 6.00 (5/1) with the same firm. Behind them come Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders at 8.00 (7/1).

King's XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals are the outsiders at 10.00 (9/1).


Shimron Hetmyer Chris Gayle West Indies

The IPL Orange Cap for brilliant batsmen

The IPL’s end-of-season Orange Cap award goes to the cricketer that has smashed the most runs that campaign.

The Orange Cap began just weeks into the very first IPL season. It saw the current holder wearing the cap while fielding. The first player to ever wear the orange cap was New Zealander Brendan McCullum.

Australian Shaun Marsh was the first winner at the end of the 2008 season after he hit 616 runs in 11 matches for King’s XI Punjab.

Multiple award winners of the IPL Orange Cap include three-time winner David Warner and two-time winner Chris Gayle.

Both men will again feature in IPL 13 and we’ll have all the latest odds as soon as they’re available.

Past IPL Orange Cap winners

Year Player Runs
2008 Shaun Marsh 616
2009 Matthew Hayden 572
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 618
2011 Chris Gayle 608
2012 Chris Gayle 733
2013 Michael Hussey 733
2014 Robin Uthappa 660
2015 David Warner 562
2016 Virat Kohli 973
2017 David Warner 641
2018 Kane Williamson 735
2019 David Warner 692

Players back for more in IPL 13

A host of past Orange cap winners will be returning once more for another crack at the title in 2o20.

Chris Gayle will line up with KXIP, Virat Kohli with RCB, David Warner and Kane Williamson with Sunrisers Hyderabad and Robin Uthappa with Rajasthan Royals.

New title

Chris is passionate about all forms of cricket and loves writing about the sport. He has a background in both sport and news journalism and has written cricket and other sports content for several years now. Chris has written about all levels of the game from regional club cricket in England to the international stage. He now brings that experience to the iGaming industry where he combines it with his love of betting. Chris loves to bet on many different sports, but particularly enjoys seeking out the best value bets on offer and passing that on through his coverage.