Our All-Star IPL Team Ahead of 2020 Season

Four overseas players included too

Mahendra Singh Dhoni batting for India

The Indian Premier League will have an all-star match before the start of the 2020 tournament. One team will comprise players from the north and east of India – Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders. The other team will have players from the south and west – Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The composition of the XIs will be decided soon enough, but for now has sparked debate about who should be included in a true all-star IPL team. The 12-year history of the IPL has boasted plenty of stars. Some of their success has been limited to specific years, while others have been really good over several editions of the IPL.

This XI is hypothetical, but includes the 11 best cricketers in the IPL over the years. Like any given IPL XI, it is limited to four players from overseas and has a good balance of batsmen and bowlers, with a genuine all-rounder, wicketkeeper and captain as well.

IPL all-star XI opening batsmen

Two of the best openers.

Chris Gayle

The West Indian big-hitter is the sixth-highest run-scorer in this XI. He has hit the most sixes in a single innings, 17, and has the most sixes in the history of the entire IPL, 326. The hard-hitting left-hander has the highest individual score in the IPL, too – 175 not out hit against the Pune Warriors in Bengaluru in 2013. Gayle will turn out for the Kings XI Punjab in the 2020 IPL and is a popular figure in IPL betting.

David Warner

The Australian left-hander is the leading run-scorer in the history of the Indian Premier League among batsmen from overseas. Only Indian trio Kohli, Raina and Sharma have more IPL runs than Warner. His closest non-Indian competitor is Gayle, who is about 300 runs off Warner's pace. Warner will play for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in this year's IPL.

IPL all-star XI middle order

Three of the finest Indian batsmen.

Virat Kohli

The Indian captain is currently the leading run-scorer in the history of the IPL. He has only ever played for one franchise – the Royal Challengers Bangalore. He has captained RCB for many years, but never led them to an Indian Premier League title. RCB have lost three IPL finals. This year, Bet365 have RCB priced at 8.00 to win the 2020 IPL. Kohli will be massively important to their pursuit of a maiden IPL title.

Open an account with bet365 today and bet on a huge range of markets with the world’s favourite online sports betting company. 18+. Full terms and conditions apply. https://Begambleaware.org. https://www.gamblingtherapy.org/

Bonus Terms

  • 12x rollover requirement on initial deposit.
  • Bets at odds of 1.20 or more will contribute.
  • Minimum deposit of ₹400.
  • Bets must settle within 30 days.
  • Bet Credit stakes not included in any returns.
  • Registration required.

Suresh Raina

The veteran left-hander has not played competitive cricket since the 2019 IPL. He was well on the way to recovering from knee surgery at the time of writing. He is just behind Kohli on the list of all-time leading run-scorers in the IPL. The bulk of his career has been spent with the Chennai Super Kings, who have shown faith in him by retaining his services despite the long layoff period. Raina was also with the now-defunct Gujarat Lions.

Rohit Sharma

While the Mumbai right-hander is an opening batsman in T20I, ODI and Test cricket these days, his IPL career started in the middle order. He is the captain of the most successful franchise in the history of the IPL. The Mumbai Indians have won the IPL four times and are the reigning champions heading into the 2020 tournament. The mercurial Sharma will be central to their chase of a fifth title.

Our Full all-star Indian Premier League Team

Player Current IPL franchise
Chris Gayle Kings XI Punjab
David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad
Virat Kohli Chennai Super Kings
Suresh Raina Chennai Super Kings
Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians
Mahendra Singh Dhoni Chennai Super Kings
Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad
Harbhajan Singh Chennai Super Kings
Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians
Amit Mishra Delhi Capitals


IPL all-star XI captain and wicketkeeper

India and Chennai's loyal servant.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

The Board of Control for Cricket in India have removed the former national captain from the list of centrally-contracted players. But the Chennai Super Kings still see his immense value and have retained him as captain. They've also said they will try keep him around if he is available ahead of the player auction for the 2021 Indian Premier League. No other IPL wicketkeeper has as many dismissals, 132, as Dhoni. He is the captain and wicketkeeper for this all-star XI.

IPL all-star XI all-rounder

A batsman and bowler in one.

Dwayne Bravo

From Shane Watson and Yusuf Pathan to Jacques Kallis and Kieron Pollard, the IPL has had many great all-rounders over the years. The West Indies‘ Bravo has statistically been among the best for a prolonged period. Like Albie Morkel did for the Chennai Super Kings previously, Bravo has boosted their batting and bowling ranks with his sole selection. He is two cricketers in one, effectively, making him a good bet in batting and bowling markets for the IPL.

IPL all-star XI bowlers – seamers

Support for the spinners.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The talented seamer only entered the IPL in the 2011 edition, so missed 2008, 2009 and 2010, but has already climbed to sixth position among the tournament's leading wicket-takers. He has been retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad again, but is currently recovering from injury. He will likely be ready in time for the 2020 IPL, when his characteristically tight lines and lengths will again be on display.

Lasith Malinga

The Sri Lankan pace ace has the most wickets in the history of the IPL and has mesmerised batsmen with his slingy action, toe-cracking yorkers and testing speed for several years. While his pace is lagging these days, he is still the only outright fast bowler in the top eight wicket-takers in the IPL history. His average has been good over an extended period and his economy rate is better than most among the elite.

IPL all-star XI bowlers – spinners

Help for the seamers.

Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan might have missed out in this XI, were it not limited to four players from overseas, in which case West Indian Sunil Narine would have been chosen. Singh is the most prolific off-spinner in the IPL and will again play for the Chennai Super Kings this season. He also played a bit for the Mumbai Indians. Watching him and South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir in tandem during the 2020 should be a treat.

Amit Mishra

From Tahir to Piyush Chawla and several others, the Indian Premier League has showcased the wile and guile of many leg-spinners over the years. Mishra has been the best of the lot, taking more wickets than Yuzvendra Chahal, Shane Warne and more. He will be in action for the Delhi Capitals again this year. Nepal leg-spinner and Delhi team-mate Sandeep Lamichhane will be able to learn a thing or two from Mishra.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.