Gayle keen to keep playing until he is 45 years old

West Indian is currently 40

Shimron Hetmyer Chris Gayle West Indies

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle might continue to play professional cricket for five more years.

Gayle is currently 40 years old and playing for the Chattogram Challengers in the 2019-20 Bangladesh Premier League. He recently represented the Jozi Stars in South Africa's Mzansi Super League.

Later this year, he will play for the Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League. KXIP are priced at 10.00 by Unibet to win the 2020 IPL.

“A lot of people still want see Chris Gayle out there in the middle. I still have that love for the game and that passion for the game as well. And I would love to carry on as long as possible,” said Gayle, who has represented several franchises in the IPL, MSL, BPL, Caribbean Premier League, Global T20 Canada, Pakistan Super League and more.

“Even in franchise cricket I am still playing a few games here and there around the globe because I still feel I have a lot to offer. The body is feeling good. And I am sure I am getting younger as days go on.

“45 is a good number. Yeah, we can target 45. Let's target 45, that's a good number.”

Gayle at T20 World Cups

The hard-hitting left-hander has collected the second-most runs in the history of the T20 World Cup (previously known as the World Twenty20. Only Sri Lankan Mahela Jayawardene has more T20 World Cup runs than Gayle's 920 in 28 matches. Gayle has hit more than twice as many T20 World Cup sixes than any other player. He also has more centuries in the tournament than anyone else.

Whether Gayle is selected for the West Indies squad for the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia, though, remains in the balance.

“It'd be nice. It's open, the door's open for a chance. We'll see what happens. We have some bright youngsters ahead of you as well. I will leave the options open to hear back from the selectors,” he added.

The West Indies are the reigning T20 World Cup champions, having beaten England in the 2016 final. They men from the Caribbean also won the title in 2012, when Sri Lanka were beaten in the final. This year, the West Indies have been pooled with Pakistan, New Zealand, Australia and two qualifying teams.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.