Trinbago and Babardos Sign Youngsters for CPL

Jayden Seales and Nyeem Young signed

Queens Park Oval Port of Spain West Indies

Seamer Jayden Seales and all-rounder Nyeem Young have joined the Trinbago Knight Riders and Babardos Tridents, respectively, ahead of this year's edition of the Caribbean Premier League.

Seales and Young impressed for the West Indies during the recent Under-19 World Cup in South Africa. The former took a four-wicket haul against Australia. The latter completed a five-for and struck a half-century against England.

“Jayden has got some terrific skill already to his armoury, and got genuine pace for an Under-19 kid. But he gathers pace off the wicket, which I like, which tells me he's got a very good wrist. He snaps through his wrist, which is a bit like Pat Cummins does very, very effectively,” said former Australian fast bowler Tom Moody, who has worked in the CPL as a coach.

Changes at the St Lucia Zouks

Batsman Kimani Melius, meanwhile, has joined the St Lucia Zouks. The Zouks recently hired former England head coach Andy Flower, who will also be Kings XI Punjab head coach Anil Kumble's assistant in the 2020 Indian Premier League. Punjab are priced at 10.00 by bet365 to win the 2020 IPL.

“I am excited to lead and coach this team. I am a fan of the Caribbean Premier League and would love to be the coach to be associated with the team to bring victory home to the fans in St. Lucia,” said Flower.

Kings XI Punjab chief executive officer Satish Menon added: “I am delighted to have some one of the caliber and eminence of Andy; we sure look forward to a great season ahead.”

Flower has succeeded former Zouks head coach James Foster. Former Australian batsman Brad Hodge was Foster's predecessor. The Zouks franchise was recently sold to e been sold to K.P.H. Dream Cricket Private Limited.

“We are hugely excited to welcome this ownership team to the CPL family and we are looking forward to seeing where they take the Zouks during the upcoming season and beyond,” stated CPL chief operating officer Pete Russell.

The 2020 CPL will start on 19 August and end on 26 September. The Barbados Tridents are the reigning champions.

The CPL is one of several domestic T20 tournaments around the globe, including the Bangladesh Premier League, Pakistan Super League, Australia's Big Bash League, South Africa's Mzansi Super League, the United Kingdom's T20 Blast, the Global T20 Canada and more.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.