Start times and squad limits for IPL 2020 announced

10 double-headers

Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary Jay Shah has confirmed the starting times of matches for the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League.

Afternoon fixtures will start at 15:30 Indian standard time.

Evening matches will start at 19:30 IST.

Shah also officially confirmed the dates for the 2020 IPL. The tournament will start on 19 September and end on 10 November.

It was meant to be played earlier this year, but was delayed amid the coronavirus pandemic. The tournament has also moved from India to the United Arab Emirates. The UAE hosted it in 2014 as well.

The use of an unlimited number of Covid-19 substitutes has been approved, too.

Comments from BCCI Secretary on IPL 2020

The Indian Premier League governing council met via video-conference to decide on the issues concerning the IPL 2020 edition,” read a statement from Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary Jay Shah.

“Taking note of the prevailing Covid-19 situation in India, the IPL GC decided to stage the tournament in the United Arab Emirates and the matches will be played in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi subject to necessary clearances from the Government of India.

IPL 2020 will be played from 19 September and the final will be played on 10 November 2020. The 53-day tournament will witness 10-afternoon matches starting at 15:30 IST, while the evening matches will start at 19:30 IST.

“The governing council also discussed the comprehensive standard operating procedures, which will be finalised and published in due course, including the agencies to execute and deliver a bio-secure environment for safe and successful conduct of IPL 2020 season.

“The governing council also reviewed the player regulations for replacement players for the 2020 season.

“The Women's T20 Challenge will also take place in the UAE and will comprise three teams with four matches to be played during the IPL playoff week. A meeting with the franchises will be called shortly.”

Spectators Might Attend IPL 2020

The first leg of the 2020 IPL will likely be played without spectators as a preventative measure against the spread of the virus. The Emirates Cricket Board, meanwhile, is seeking permission to have spectators in the stadiums for the second leg.

The Mumbai Indians are the current IPL champions. They beat the Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 final. Mumbai's four titles are the most in the history of the tournament. Chennai have three. The Kolkata Knight Riders have two.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.