St Kitts & Nevis Patriots change coaches for CPL 2020

Walsh and O'Donnell in

Sheldon Cottrell West Indies

The Saint Kitts and Nevis Patriots have lost head coach Simon Helmot and assistant coach Malolan Rangarajan ahead of this year's Caribbean Premier League.

Helmot has tested positive for the coronavirus and cannot travel, while Rangarajan will be involved with the Royal Challengers Bangalore as a talent scout ahead of the 2020 Indian Premier League.

The Patriots have enlisted the help of former West Indies fast bowler Courtney Walsh and New Zealander Mark O'Donnell in the absence of Helmot and Rangarajan.

What Helmot Said

“I tested positive five hours before I was to fly out, and I'm shattered that I won't be able to be part of Patriots this season,” Helmot told ESPNcricinfo.

“I was asymptomatic, and my second test has come back negative, but I'm still in home isolation until the department of health and human services give me a green signal.

“Victoria is currently in stage four of lockdown, after a recent spike in cases. Because of my quarantine restrictions, I wouldn't have been able to make it in time for the season owing to the quarantine protocols.

“I'm incredibly thankful to Mahesh Ramani, the franchise owner, and the CPL team of Pete Russell, Tom Moody and the others for working incredibly hard behind the scenes to put it together.”

Helmot previously worked with the Trinbago Knight Riders in 2015. He has also coached the Melbourne Renegades in Australia's Big Bash League and the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.

The St Kitts and Nevis Patriots have Australian batsmen Chris Lynn and Ben Dunk in the squad for the 2020 CPL. New Zealand spinner Ish Sodhi is also in the squad. Pakistan seamer Sohail Tanvir is in there, too.

CPL Background

The CPL 2020 will start on 18 August and end on 10 September. The tournament will be played entirely in Trinidad and Tobago at two stadiums: the Brian Lara Stadium and Queen's Park Oval.

The Trinbago Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors will contest the opening fixture at the Brian Lara Stadium.

The Barbados Tridents are the current CPL champions, having beaten the Amazon Warriors in the 2019 final.

Trinbago are the most successful CPL franchise. They have won three titles. The Patroits have never won the CPL.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.