Pollard will captain Trinbago Knight Riders, not Bravo

Full-time appointment for all-rounder

Kieron Pollard takes a catch for West Indies

All-rounder Kieron Pollard has been appointed captain of the Trinbago Knight Riders for this year's Caribbean Premier League.

Pollard was Trinbago's stand-in captain during the 2019 CPL. Regular captain Dwayne Bravo had been sidelined by injury. He had also led the team to successive CPL titles in 2017 and 2018.

“We are happy that Kieron, who is the West Indies captain, is our leader at TKR,” franchise chief executive officer Venky Mysore was quoted as saying by Trinidad and Tobago Guardian.

“The champion DJ Bravo has been coming to me year after year and asking me to give someone else the captaincy because he wants to just concentrate on playing and enjoying the game.

“I always told him not until I am ready and that time has come and he is very happy to play under Pollard.

They are great friends and they will both come together to give us the best chance at the CPL this year. Bravo said he has played under Pollard before and this will be the best thing at this time for all parties.

Pollard was kind enough to accept the position to lead the team at the tournament.

“He said if we wanted him to do it he will and we said that we will be delighted to have him as captain again.”

New to Trinbago Squad

Trinbago have recruited Indian leg-spinner Pravin Tambe, Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza and local fast bowler Anderson Phillip. New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert and Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed have also joined the franchise.

The Trinbago Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors will contest the opening match of the 2020 CPL on 18 August. The whole tournament will be played in Trinidad and Tobago, as a preventative measure against the spread of the coronavirus.

Pollard and Bravo in the IPL

Bravo represents the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League. Pollard is with the Mumbai Indians. The IPL will be played later this year. It was postponed earlier this year. Mumbai have five IPL titles. Chennai have three.

Seamer Bravo has taken the fifth-most wickets in the history of the IPL. Only Mumbai fast bowler Lasith Malinga, Delhi leg-spinner Amit Mishra and Chennai pair Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla have more than Bravo's 147 wickets.

New title

Jonhenry is a cricket nut. He has written about the game for several years and knows more about South African cricket - club cricket, in particular - than most. He has been published on most reputable cricket sites and, nowadays, devotes his knowledge of the global game to the iGaming industry. When he is not producing content about cricket, Jonhenry is playing, watching or coaching it. If not that, he's reading about the game or administrating his local cricket club.