Rashid Khan Rejoins Adelaide Strikers for BBL

Leg-spinner's fourth season with franchise

Australia cricket fans

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan will rejoin the Adelaide Strikers in the 2020-21 Big Bash League in Australia.

This will be Khan's fourth consecutive season with the Strikers. He has been capped four times at Test level. Khan has also collected 71 ODI and 48 T20I appearances. He captained Afghanistan briefly.

“I'm so happy that I am able to play for the Strikers again in a big 10thh season of the Big Bash, and I have loved this competition from the very beginning,” said Khan.

“The Strikers have been like a family to me since I joined them, and I am so thankful to the fans who have been supporting me and made me feel like Adelaide is my home.”

The 22-year-old Khan is currently with the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2020 Indian Premier League. Earlier this year, he was part of the Barbados Tridents squad in the Caribbean Premier League.

He has also represented the Durban Heat in South Africa's Mzansi Super League and Quetta Gladiators in the Pakistan Super League.

“Rashid has been such a quality player and person for the city of Adelaide and the Strikers from the moment he arrived,” added Strikers head coach Jason Gillespie.

“We're thrilled his world-class bowling and exciting batting will continue to entertain our loyal fans, and we want to again be challenging for a second title when the tournament begins.”

Khan's Afghanistan Team-Mate in BBL, Too

Earlier this week, the Melbourne Renegades confirmed the return of Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi. He is currently ranked the number one T20I all-rounder and is also with the Sunrisers for the IPL 2020.

“I have always enjoyed my time with the Renegades and testing myself against some of the best T20 players in the world in the Big Bash. I'm very pleased to have re-signed for a fourth season,” said Nabi.

England Stars in BBL 2020-21

Several England stars will play in the 2020-21 BBL, too.

Batsman Dawid Malan, and all-rounder Liam Livingstone will be with the Hobart Hurricanes and Perth Scorchers, respectively.

Alex Hales and Tom Curran will represent the Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers, respectively.

The Sixers are the current champions, having beat the Melbourne Stars in the 2020 final.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.