New Zealand Announce Squad to Face West Indies

Williamson and Boult Rested for T20Is

Kane Williamson New Zealand

Tim Southee will captain New Zealand in the T20I series against the West Indies after Kane Williamson was rested.

The first game of the three-match series will take place in Auckland on November 27. However, Williamson will be saved for the Test series that follows.

Trent Boult has also been left out of the T20I side for the same reason, while Colin Munro hasn’t been considered due to his Big Bash League commitments

Kyle Jamieson has earned a debut call-up in the shortest format for the Black Caps.

He, along with Southee and Ross Taylor, will only be available for the first two fixtures before linking up with the Test team. That trio will then be replaced by Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn and Mark Chapman for the third and final T20I.

Meanwhile, Devon Conway is another name to secure his first New Zealand call-up in the T20I squad.

The South-African-born batsman qualified for the Black Caps in August but was among the top run-scorers in the Plunket Shield and last season’s T20 Super Smash.

“We're looking forward to welcoming Devon into our environment for the first time and I'm sure he'll soak up the experience,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead said.

“With Colin Munro heading to the Big Bash and therefore unavailable for the Pakistan T20 series pre-Christmas, the selectors are keen to look at other batting options at the top of the order.”

Test Squad the Priority for Williamson and Boult

Williamson, Boult, Southee, Taylor and Jamieson will be joined in the Test squad by Colin de Grandhomme and Ajaz Patel, despite them nursing injuries at present.

Explaining the call for Williamson and Boult to sit out the T20I series, Stead added: “We've had to make a decision on Kane and Trent to prioritise the Test matches, given how important they are to our red-ball team and the fact they both played such big roles in the recent IPL while also managing injuries.

“There's no secret we're right in the hunt for the World Test Championship final following our 2-0 win over India, and having Trent and Kane fully fit and focused for the upcoming series will be crucial.”

“Colin and Ajaz have quite different injuries which are requiring different return-to-play protocols. It's too early at this stage to definitively say what their chances are, but we're hopeful the next two weeks will make that clearer.

“For both of those guys, we're giving them every chance of being right and being selected for the team.

“I guess time will tell where we get to with that and if we have to make a call closer to the time to I guess remove them but we give them every chance of being right.”

New Zealand T20 Squad: Tim Southee (captain), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert, Ross Taylor (Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn and Mark Chapman included for game three in place of Jamieson, Southee and Taylor).

New Zealand Test Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

New title

Chris is passionate about all forms of cricket and loves writing about the sport. He has a background in both sport and news journalism and has written cricket and other sports content for several years now. Chris has written about all levels of the game from regional club cricket in England to the international stage. He now brings that experience to the iGaming industry where he combines it with his love of betting. Chris loves to bet on many different sports, but particularly enjoys seeking out the best value bets on offer and passing that on through his coverage.