IPL 2021: Teams Reveal Retained Players

Malinga, Smith, Maxwell released

IPL Final 2011 RCB vs CSK

Indian Premier League teams have revealed the players they have retained and released ahead of this year's tournament.

A host of big names have been cast aside as franchises make room for new additions at the next IPL Auction, which takes place on February 11, 2021.

The IPL's highest wicket-taker, Lasith Malinga, has been released by champions Mumbai Indians and has decided to retire from francise cricket.

Meanwhile, Australia trio Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch are among the overseas stars also released by their respective teams.

The funds available to each team at the upcoming auction will depend on their retained choices but the figure is capped at 85 CR.

Take a look at our team-by-team round-up of the changes.

Mumbai Indians

Five-time Indian Premier League champions Mumbai Indians have once again retained their core group of players, including overseas stars Trent Boult, Quinton de Kock and Keiron Pollard.

Their released list includes the likes of Malinga, James Pattinson and Mitch McCleneghan.

Retained: Rohit Sharma (c), Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav, Chris Lynn, Mohsin Khan, Saurabh Tiwary, Trent Boult.

Released: Mitchell McCleneghan, James Pattinson, Lasith Malinga, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai Singh.

Funds Remaining: INR 15.35 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Seven (four overseas).

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai have retained MS Dhoni for IPL 2021. They have also kept Ravindra Jadeja and Shardul Thakur.

Veteran Harbhajan Singh and the retiring Shane Watson are part ofa list of six released players as CSK target an auction revamp.

Retained: MS Dhoni (c), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Narayan Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood, R Sai Kishore, Sam Curran.

Released: Kedar Jadhav, Harbhajan Singh, Shane Watson, Monu Singh, Piyush Chawla, Murali Vijay.

Funds Remaining: INR 22.9 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Seven (one overseas).

Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB will again be led by Virat Kolhi for IPL 2021. They have retained both Adam Zampa and Kane Richardson, while releasing Chris Morris, Aaron Finch and Moeen Ali among others.

Retained: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Joshua Philippe, Pavan Deshpande, Shahbaz Ahamad, Adam Zampa.

Released: Chris Morris, Aaron Finch, Moeen Ali, Isuru Udana, Dale Steyn, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Mann, Parthiv Patel.

Funds Remaining: INR 35.7 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: 13 (four overseas).

Delhi Capitals

Last year's beaten finalists have retained the key names from IPL 2020. Alex Carey and Keemo Paul are among the names to be shown the exit.

Retained: Shreyas Iyer (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Daniel Sams, Anrich Nortje.

Released: Alex Carey, Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Sharma.

Funds Remaining: INR 12.8 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Six (two overseas).

Kolkata Knight Riders

The Eoin Morgan-led Knight Riders have released Tom Banton and Chris Green as well as Indian players Siddhesh Lad, Nikhil Naik and M Siddharth.

Retained: Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan (c), Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathi, Tom Banton, Varun Chakravarthy.

Released: M Siddharth, Nikhil Naik, Siddhesh Lad, Chris Green, Tom Banton.

Funds Remaining: INR 10.85 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Seven (one overseas).

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Sunrisers finished third in IPL 2020 and have released just five players as they look for continuity heading into the next edition.

David Warner, Jonny Bairstow and Kane Williamson are all staying.

Retained: David Warner (c), Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha, Abdul Samad, Mitchell Marsh, Priyam Garg, Virat Singh.

Released: Sanjay Yadav, B Sandeep, Billy Stanlake, Fabian Allen, Yarra Prithviraj.

Funds Remaining: INR 10.75 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Three (one overseas).

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan have released Australian batting star Steve Smith. It means the Royals will now be led by Sanju Samson for IPL 2021.

They have, however, retained England trio Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes.

Retained: Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Robin Uthappa.

Released: Steve Smith, Ankit Rajpoot, Oshane Thomas, Akash Singh, Varun Aaron, Tom Curran, Anirudha Joshi, Shashank Singh.

Funds Remaining: INR 34.85 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Eight (three overseas).

Kings XI Punjab

KXIP have shown Australian Glenn Maxwell the door despite the fact they forked out a big fee for him last year.

He is joined on the released list by Sheldon Cottrell after he also endured a poor campaign.

They will be led by last season's top run-scorer KL Rahul and have kept big-hitting star Chris Gayle.

Retained: KL Rahul (c), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Prabhsimran Singh, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Darshan Nalkande, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel.

Released: Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Hardus Viljoen, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Sheldon Cottrell, Jimmy Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Tajinder Singh.

Funds Remaining: INR 53.2 CR.

Squad Places Remaining: Nine (five overseas).

New title

Chris is passionate about all forms of cricket and loves writing about the sport. He has a background in both sport and news journalism and has written cricket and other sports content for several years now. Chris has written about all levels of the game from regional club cricket in England to the international stage. He now brings that experience to the iGaming industry where he combines it with his love of betting. Chris loves to bet on many different sports, but particularly enjoys seeking out the best value bets on offer and passing that on through his coverage.