Holder Replaces Marsh in Sunrisers Squad

All-rounder ruled out of IPL 2020

Jason Holder West Indies

The Sunrisers Hyderabad have lost all-rounder Mitchell Marsh for the rest of the 2020 Indian Premier League.

Marsh injured an ankle during this week's defeat to the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

He will be replaced in the Sunrisers squad by West Indies all-rounder Jason Holder, who played for the Barbados Tridents during the recent Caribbean Premier League.

Holder has previously represented the Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings in the IPL. This will be his second stint with the Sunrisers.

Elsewhere in the Hyderabad Squad

Batsman Kane Williamson has recovered from injury. He is available for Saturday's match against the Knight Riders in Kolkata. All-rounder Rashid Khan, who was in doubt due to a suspected concussion, is also available.

The Sunrisers have won the IPL once. They clinched the title in 2016, beating Bangalore in the final. They are captained by Australian batsman David Warner.

Warner, meanwhile, has backed the roles of middle-order batsmen Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar and Abhishek Sharma. They shared a mere 19 runs in the loss to the Royal Challengers.

“We wouldn't have put them in the middle order if we didn't feel they weren't good enough. I have encouraged them to keep playing their way, and not think too much about the scenario or the situation,” he said.

We have to really rely on our senior players to guide them out in the middle. If it so happens to be two youngsters out there, my message is just to play their natural game. At the end of the day, that is the only way you can learn.

The Sunrisers squad also features Afghanistan star Mohammad Nabi, West Indian Fabian Allen, Australian Billy Stanlake and England's Jonny Bairstow.

This year's tournament is being played in the United Arab Emirates, not India. The relocation was made as a preventative measure against the spread of the coronavirus in India. The competition is being played without spectators in the UAE.

The Mumbai Indians are the reigning IPL champions. They have four titles – and beat the Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 final. Chennai have won the tournament three times.

The Knight Riders have two IPL titles.

New title

Jonhenry is a cricket nut. He has written about the game for several years and knows more about South African cricket - club cricket, in particular - than most. He has been published on most reputable cricket sites and, nowadays, devotes his knowledge of the global game to the iGaming industry. When he is not producing content about cricket, Jonhenry is playing, watching or coaching it. If not that, he's reading about the game or administrating his local cricket club.