Hyderabad Replace Marsh with Roy

Australian withdraws from IPL

Jason Roy playing for England

England batsman Jason Roy has replaced Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh in the Sunrisers Hyderabad squad for the 2021 Indian Premier League.

Marsh will miss the tournament due to personal reasons.

“Marsh, who made his Indian Premier League debut in 2010, has played a total of 21 IPL games. His replacement, Roy, made his IPL debut in 2017, playing for Gujarat Lions and later featured for the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in the 2018 IPL edition,” read a statement from the Hyderabad franchise.

“He has played a total of eight matches and scored 179 runs with one half-century to his name. Sunrisers Hyderabad have acquired Roy at his base price of 2 INR crore.”

Who Hyderabad Retained and Gained

Hyderabad have retained several overseas players, including Australian batsman David Warner, West Indies all-rounder Jason Holder, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and England wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow. Holder replaced the injured Marsh during the 2020 IPL.

Local talents Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Thangarasu Natarajan, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg and Abdul Samad have been kept, too.

They acquired Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman at the player auction earlier this year. He will join fellow Afghan stars Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan at Hyderabad.

Indians Jagadeesha Suchith and Kedar Jadhav have also joined.

IPL Background

The Sunrisers won the IPL in 2016, after beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. Hyderabad reached the final again in 2018, but lost to the Chennai Super Kings.

The 2021 IPL will start on 9 April, when the Mumbai Indians and Bangalore meet in Chennai. The tournament has returned to India – and will be played at six venues.

Last year's IPL was played in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates.

Mumbai are the reigning champions. They beat the Delhi Capitals in the 2020 final. Mumbai are the most successful team in the history of the IPL. They have five titles. Chennai have three. The Kolkata Knight Riders have two.

Delhi, Bangalore and the Punjab Kings, who used to be called the Kings XI Punjab, have never won the IPL.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.