South Africa name squad for ODI series in India

George Linde included

Quinton de Kock takes a catch for South Africa

The uncapped George Linde has been named in South Africa‘s squad for this month's ODI series against India.

Linde was capped at Test level last year, but hasn't yet played ODI or T20I cricket for the Proteas.

Batsman Kyle Verreynne, who debuted during the ongoing ODI series against Australia, has been retained. The Proteas beat the Aussies in the first ODI – and are priced at 1.90 by bet365 to win the three-match series.

Batsmen Faf du Plessis and Rassie van der Dussen, who were rested for the ODIs against the Aussies, have returned.

Wrist-spinner Tabriaz Shamsi is absent due to paternity leave. Fast bowler Lutho Sipamla and spinner Keshav Maharaj are in the squad as well.

“It is exciting to see the amount of competition for spots that we have within the team and in the franchises, it's a good headache for us as selectors to have. We are satisfied with our picks for what will certainly be a challenging tour of India. We saw some promising performances last year from the T20 squad that travelled there and we wanted to give a player like George another crack at the conditions which seemed to really suit him,” said Cricket South Africa independent selector Linda Zondi

“We are also particularly pleased with the balance of youth and experience that we have achieved while our young leadership group continues to establish itself. We are looking forward to some good performances in this relatively short tour.”

India and South Africa will contest three ODIs in Dharamsala, Lucknow and Kolkata on 12, 15 and 18 March 2020, respectively.

Both teams are in preparation for the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. They have been pooled together, alongside England, Afghanistan and two qualifying teams. India won the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007, after beating Pakistan in the final. India will host the 2021 T20 World Cup.

South Africa squad for ODI series in India

Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Jon-Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lundi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj.

New title

Jonhenry is a cricket nut. He has written about the game for several years and knows more about South African cricket - club cricket, in particular - than most. He has been published on most reputable cricket sites and, nowadays, devotes his knowledge of the global game to the iGaming industry. When he is not producing content about cricket, Jonhenry is playing, watching or coaching it. If not that, he's reading about the game or administrating his local cricket club.