Rajasthan Royals Lose Liam Livingstone

England star withdraws from IPL 2021

Indian cricket fans India

The Rajasthan Royals have lost England all-rounder Liam Livingstone for the remainder of the 2021 Indian Premier League.

Livingstone has withdrawn from the tournament with immediate effect. He was in the Royals squad, but hadn't played a match yet.

“Liam has flown back home late last night, due to bubble fatigue accumulated over the past year. We understand and respect his decision, and will continue supporting him in any way we can,” read a brief statement from the franchise.

He played for England in India, the Perth Scorchers in Australia's Big Bash League and Peshawar Zalmi in the Pakistan Super League relatively recently.

The 27-year-old will likely join Lancashire‘s ongoing County Championship campaign.

Other England IPL Stars

Rajasthan are still waiting on the fitness of fast bowler Jofra Archer, who is recovering from a hand injury. The team have also lost all-rounder Ben Stokes for the rest of the tournament.

Stokes has been sidelined for up to three months after injuring a finger.

Several other England stars are involved in this season's IPL, too, including fast bowler Tom Curran, batsman David Malan and wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler. Curran, Malan and Buttler are with the Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings and Royals, respectively.

Rajasthan's IPL Background

The Royals are currently in sixth position in the IPL 2021's eight-team standings. They have one victory in three attempts.

Rajasthan won the inaugural IPL in 2008. They haven't claimed a title since.

The franchise has a new captain in wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson. Former Sri Lanka captain has been appointed their director of cricket.

IPL History

The Mumbai Indians are the reigning IPL champions. They beat Delhi in the 2020 final. Mumbai have five titles. The Chennai Super Kings have three. The Kolkata Knight Riders have two. The Sunrisers Hyderabad have one.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab and Delhi have never won the IPL.

This year's tournament is being staged at six venues across India. Last year, the competition was played in the United Arab Emirates. It was hosted in South Africa in 2009.

The tournament is being played without spectators, as a preventative measure against the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.