Agarwal to Captain Punjab in IPL 2022

Takes over from KL Rahul

Indian cricket fans India

Batsman Mayank Agarwal has been named captain of the Punjab Kings for the 2022 Indian Premier League.

Agarwal has succeeded former captain KL Rahul, who has moved to the Lucknow Super Giants.

What Mayank Agarwal Said

“I have been at Punjab Kings since 2018 and I take a lot of pride in representing this fantastic unit. I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead the team,” said Agarwal.

“I take over this responsibility with utmost sincerity, but at the same time, I believe my job would be made easier with the talent we have at the Punjab Kings squad this season.

“We have some vastly experienced players in our ranks, along with many talented youngsters who are keen to grab the opportunity and run with it. We have always taken to the field hoping to win the title and as a team we will once again work towards this goal of lifting our maiden IPL trophy.

“I thank the team management for entrusting me with this new role of leading the side. I look forward to the new season and the new challenges it brings with it.”

What Anil Kumble Said

Agarwal will captain a Punjab squad that features several new recruits, including England duo Jonny Bairstow and Liam Livingstone – and South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada.

“Mayank has been an integral part of the side since 2018 and of the leadership group for the last two years,” added Kings head coach Anil Kumble.

“The new squad we selected at the recently concluded auction has exciting young talent and outstanding experienced players. We want to create a strong foundation for the future with Mayank at the helm.

“He is hardworking, enthusiastic, a team player with all the attributes required of a leader. I look forward to working with him as captain and believe that he will lead this team to a successful campaign.”

IPL Background

Punjab have never won the IPL. The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the tournament with five titles.

The Chennai Super Kings are the reigning champions. They beat the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2021 final.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.