PSL 2020 Squad Changes: Taylor, Denly Join Sultans

Vince and Mahmudullah out

Pakistan and India Cricket Fans Crowd

England's Joe Denly and Zimbabwe's Brendan Taylor are the latest players to join the Pakistan Super League 2020.

Denly and Taylor have replaced Bangladesh's Mohammad Mahmudullah and England's James Vince, respectively, in the Multan Sultans squad.

Mahmudullah and Vince have withdrawn from the Sultans squad after testing positive for the coronavirus.

Other PSL teams have made changes, too, for various reasons.

Squad Changes for PSL 2020

PSL Team Withdrawal Replacement
Karachi Kings Ali Khan Waqas Maqsood
Karachi Kings Chris Jordan Sherfane Rutherford
Karachi Kings Mitchell McClenaghan Wayne Parnell
Lahore Qalandars Salman Butt Abid Ali
Lahore Qalandars Seekkuge Prasanna Agha Salman
Multan Sultans Mohammad Mahmudullah Joe Denly
Multan Sultans James Vince Brendan Taylor
Multan Sultans Fabian Allen Adam Lyth
Peshawar Zalmi Kieron Pollard Faf du Plessis
Peshawar Zalmi Liam Dawson Hardus Viljoen
Peshawar Zalmi Lewis Gregory Yasir Shah
Peshawar Zalmi Amir Khan Khurram Shahzad
Peshawar Zalmi Liam Livingstone Saqib Mahmood
Peshawar Zalmi Daren Sammy Sohaib Maqsood


Faf du Plessis Boost for Peshawar Zalmi

The inclusion of du Plessis is promising for Peshawar. The South African star was the highest run-scorer for the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2020, which ended last week. He struck 449 runs in 13 innings at an average of 40.81.

“I am very excited to join Peshawar Zalmi for the playoff stage games of the PSL 2020. I have fond memories of playing in Pakistan when I toured with the ICC World XI in 2017 and I am sure this experience, although different due to the coronavirus pandemic, will be a memorable one as well,” he said.

PSL Playoffs

The round-robin stage of the PSL ended earlier this year. The playoffs will be played this month, after a lengthy delay amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The Sultans will play the Karachi Kings in the Qualifier. The Lahore Qalandars will contest the Eliminator 1 with the Peshawar Zalmi. Both matches will be played on 14 November.

The National Stadium in Karachi will host the PSL 2020 playoffs, including the final.

The Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United failed to qualify for the PSL 2020 playoffs. Islamabad are the most successful team in the history of the tournament. They claimed the title in 2016 and 2018. Peshawar and Quetta have won a PSL title each.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.