Proteas Include Dupavillon and Baartman for Pakistan Tour

Stuurman and Pretorius out

Quinton de Kock takes a catch for South Africa

Fast bowlers Daryn Dupavillon and Ottneil Baartman have been named in South Africa's squad for late January and early February's Test series against Pakistan.

Dupavillon and Baartman are uncapped at Test level, but have been in fine form for the Dolphins at first-class level.

Batsman Raynard van Tonder and seamers Glenton Stuurman and Migael Pretorius were not considered for selection due to injury. All three were in the squad during South Africa's recent Test series against Sri Lanka.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock will continue to captain the XI. Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada and all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius have been included in the touring party, too.

Batsmen Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee and Keegan Petersen have been retained. Spinners George Linde and Tabraiz Shamsi have been recalled.

What Cricket South Africa Said

“As a selection panel, we are very excited to see how the tour of Pakistan will pan out for the players we have chosen,” said Cricket South Africa convenor of selectors Victor Mpitsang.

“We are confident in our selections and believe in rewarding good performances both on and off the field, which is why we have gone with the core of the group that was selected for the Sri Lanka home series.

“Considering that the conditions that will be faced are largely unknown to the South African team, we wanted to strengthen the attack with the skill sets that Shamsi and George have to offer, while giving players like Daryn and Ottneil an opportunity after making strong cases for themselves in recent seasons.”

Pakistan v SA Background

Pakistan and the Proteas will contest two Tests. The first will start in Karachi on 26 January. The second is scheduled to begin on 4 February in Rawalpindi.

South Africa and Pakistan have contested 26 Tests since the first in 1995. The former have won 15 and the latter four. They have shared seven draws.

South Africa Test Squad for Pakistan Tour

  • Quinton de Kock (captain)
  • Temba Bavuma
  • Aiden Markram
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Dean Elgar
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Dwaine Pretorius
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Lungi Ngidi
  • Rassie van der Dussen
  • Anrich Nortje
  • Wiaan Mulder
  • Lutho Sipamla
  • Beuran Hendricks
  • Kyle Verreynne
  • Sarel Erwee
  • Keegan Petersen
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • George Linde
  • Daryn Dupavillon
  • Ottniel Baartman

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.