Prithvi Shaw Called Up to India ODI squad

India name ODI squad for New Zealand

Shikhar Dhawan playing for India against Pakistan

Prithvi Shaw has been handed a maiden ODI call-up for India after Shikhar Dhawan was ruled out through injury.

Dhawan hurt his shoulder against Australia and had already been left out of the T20I squad heading to New Zealand.

Sanju Samson has been named as his replacement in that format. India's five-game T20I series starts in Auckland on Friday.

India are favourites to take an early lead in the series. They can be backed at 1.50 (1/2) with bet365 to win at Eden Park. New Zealand are available at 2.63 (11/8).

Shaw handed ODI opportunity after Dhawan injury

As a result of Dhawan's ODI absence, talented Shaw is the man to benefit.

The opener is back and in form following a backdated eight-month ban for a doping violation in 2018-19.

Shaw is already in New Zealand with India’s A squad after recovering from a shoulder injury of his own. Despite that issue, he staked a claim for a senior recall with 100-ball 150 against New Zealand XI at the weekend.

A statement from the BCCI explained the Dhawan injury in more detail.

It said: “Dhawan suffered a fall and hurt his left shoulder while trying to stop a ball during the third ODI against Australia.

“An MRI of his shoulder was conducted, and the results have confirmed a grade II injury of his acromio-clavicular joint.

“His hand will be in a sling and he has been advised rest for some time. He will start his active rehab management in the first week of February at the National Cricket Academy.”

Meanwhile, Kedar Jadhav has retained his place in the ODI squad despite missing the Australia series. Rishabh Pant is back after a concussion.

India's ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (vc), Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Kedar Jadhav.

India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah. Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur.

New title

Chris is passionate about all forms of cricket and loves writing about the sport. He has a background in both sport and news journalism and has written cricket and other sports content for several years now. Chris has written about all levels of the game from regional club cricket in England to the international stage. He now brings that experience to the iGaming industry where he combines it with his love of betting. Chris loves to bet on many different sports, but particularly enjoys seeking out the best value bets on offer and passing that on through his coverage.