Prithvi Shaw and Ishant Sharma Return to India Squad

Jasprit Bumrah also included

Ishant Sharma playing for India

Batsman Prithvi Shaw and fast bowlers Ishant Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah have been named in India‘s squad for the upcoming Test series against New Zealand.

Shaw recently returned to competitive cricket after a stint on the sidelines due to injury. He made an immediate impact, striking 150 for India A against a New Zealand XI in Lincoln last month.

Bumrah has not played Test cricket since August 2019, but has been a relatively permanent fixture in the limited-overs XIs lately.

Sharma has been included subject to a fitness test. He is nursing an ankle injury sustained during a recent Ranji Trophy fixture.

New Zealand and India will contest three ODIs before the Test series. Bet365 have India offered at 1.44 to win Wednesday's first ODI in Hamilton.

Who else was picked alongside Shaw, Sharma and Bumrah?

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant and Wriddhiman Saha have been selected, having recovered from concussion and a finger injury, respectively. Wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav was omitted.

Fast bowler Navdeep Saini, who is uncapped at Test level, has been picked. He will be accompanied by fellow fast bowler Umesh Yadav.

“I am eager to play red-ball cricket in New Zealand. I have performed well in recent times and I am in good touch, too,” Yadav told the Times of India recently.

“I am proud to be part of this pace-bowling attack. The best part is that all for of us are able to bowl at 140 kilometres per hour or more. We are performing well and taking wickets. We all have the qualities needed to perform in any given conditions. Give us any condition and situation and we will go perform. That is what makes us stand out.

“With time, we have all shifted from the raw-talent category to being experienced fast bowlers. We are all determined to do something special for our country. All of us want to be the best in the world.”

New Zealand and India will contest two Tests. The first will be played in Wellington and the second in Christchurch.

India Test squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma.

New title

Jonhenry is a cricket nut. He has written about the game for several years and knows more about South African cricket - club cricket, in particular - than most. He has been published on most reputable cricket sites and, nowadays, devotes his knowledge of the global game to the iGaming industry. When he is not producing content about cricket, Jonhenry is playing, watching or coaching it. If not that, he's reading about the game or administrating his local cricket club.