No Bangladesh Premier League in 2021

Tournament pushed to early 2022

Bangladesh fans

The 2021 edition of the Bangladesh Premier League has been discarded.

This has happened due to the lack of availability of national players.

“We have a couple of windows open for the tournament,” Bangladesh Cricket Board governing council member secretary Ismail Haider was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

“We can either arrange it for November, but the national team is scheduled to tour Pakistan during that time. We could have had it in December but again New Zealand is scheduled to visit Bangladesh during that period.

“So, ultimately, we have to postpone it until January next year. National team cricketers may not be able to participate in several NCL, BCL, or the Dhaka League competition, due to the international tours and series.

“We want to make sure we get all the front-line cricketers of Bangladesh in the BPL.”

The eighth BPL will likely be played from 14 January to 18 February 2022. The ninth is scheduled for 3 January to 17 February 2023.

The tournament was not played in 2020 amid the coronavirus pandemic. South Africa's Mzansi Super League was postponed for the same reason.

BPL Teams

  • Chattogram Challengers
  • Cumilla Warriors
  • Dhaka Platoon
  • Khulna Tigers
  • Rajshahi Royals
  • Rangpur Rangers
  • Sylhet Thunder

Rajshahi are the reigning champions. They beat Khulna in the 2019-20 final.

Dhaka are the most successful BPL franchise with three titles.

The tournament has featured several players from abroad, including West Indies quartet Chris Gayle, Sherfane Rutherford, Shai Hope and Kesrick Williams.

South Africans Rilee Rossouw, Robbie Frylinck and Cameron Delport have also been involved.

Australians Shane Watson and Steven Smith have played in the BPL.

Many Bangladesh cricket stars play, too.

Other Domestic T20 Tournaments

  • Indian Premier League (India)
  • Pakistan Super League (Pakistan)
  • Mzansi Super League (South Africa)
  • Euro T20 Slam (Europe)
  • Global T20 Canada (Canada)
  • Everest Premier League (Nepal)
  • Big Bash League (Australia)
  • T20 Blast (United Kingdom)
  • Super Smash (New Zealand)
  • Caribbean Premier League (West Indies)
  • Lanka Premier League (Sri Lanka)

The Road Safety World Series is relatively new to the domestic T20 tournament calendar. It is currently being played in India, Raipur. India Legends, England Legends, West Indies Legends, South Africa Legends, Bangladesh Legends and Sri Lanka Legends are competing.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.