Sultans Appoint Rizwan Captain

He replaces Shan Masood

Pakistan cricket fans

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan has been named captain of the Multan Sultans for the 2021 Pakistan Premier League.

Rizwan has joined from the Karachi Kings and succeeded former Sultans captain Shan Masood.

“I look forward to leading the Multan Sultans team for the upcoming season,” said Rizwan.

“I have understood the innovative approach the franchise applied last season and am looking forward to playing my part this season.

“Multan Sultans had a successful PSL last time and we will aspire to go even better this time around especially with senior Pakistani players like Shahid Afridi, Masood and Sohail Tanvir.”

Rizwan's Credentials

Rizwan was in fine form during Pakistan's recent T20I series against South Africa. He struck a century in the first match and half-ton in the second.

“Rizwan has shown exemplary leadership qualities with the Pakistan team as well as with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in domestic tournaments,” added team owner Alamgir Khan Tareen.

“We are grateful to Shan for leading the franchise exceptionally well last season and for instilling a winning mentality in the team.”

Multan's International Players

The Sultans squad includes South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir, West Indies all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite and England batsman James Vince.

Vince starred for the Sydney Sixers in the recent Big Bash League in Australia. His last three innings brought 46, 98 not out and 95. The Sixers won the tournament.

Multan Sultans 2021 Squad
Mohammad Rizwan (captain) Sohail Khan
Imran Tahir Shahid Afridi
James Vince Carlos Brathwaite
Khushdil Shah Sohaib Maqsood
Rilee Rossouw Sohaib Ullah
Shan Masood Adam Lyth
Sohail Tanvir Shahnawaz Dhani
Usman Qadir Muhammad Umar
Chris Lynn Imran Khan Senior

Changes at Islamabad United

Islamabad United, meanwhile, have replaced New Zealand batsman Colin Munro with Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed.

Islamabad have also lost England duo Reece Topley and Chris Jordan. Ireland batsman Paul Stirling and United States of America fast bowler Ali Khan are their replacements.

This year's Pakistan Super League will start on Saturday, 20 February. The host cities are Karachi and Lahore. The entire tournament will be played in Pakistan. Previously, it has been hosted in the United Arab Emirates.

Some spectators will be allowed at the grounds amid limited measures against the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.