Maxwell Included in Australia’s Limited-overs Squads

International return for all-rounder

Glenn Maxwell Catching for Australia

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell has been included in Australia's squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against South Africa.

This marks a return to international cricket for Maxwell, who had taken a brief break to tend to mental health issues.

Opening batsman Marcus Stoinis has not been named in the ODI or T20I squad, despite a solid stretch of form for the Melbourne Stars in the ongoing Big Bash League in Australia. He has, however, been put on standby.

Maxwell and Stoinis will play for the Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab, respectively, in the Indian Premier League later this year.

The ODI and T20I squads also include Sunrisers Hyderabad all-rounder Mitchell Marsh. Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman Aaron Finch and Kolkata Knight Riders fast bowler Pat Cummins are captain and vice-captain, respectively, of both squads.

“It is fantastic to have Glenn back in both squads given his brilliant form in the middle order for the Stars along with his results with the ball,” said national selector Trevor Hohns.

“Glenn was one of the first picked in the most recent T20 team at the start of the summer, prior to his break from the game.

“The same can be said for Mitch. He has been in tremendous touch with the bat for the Perth Scorchers since his return from injury and is now back bowling well. His performances warranted inclusion in the area he operates as a powerful middle order batsman and handy bowler.

“Marcus is a standby player for each squad and was unlucky to miss out due to the makeup of the current top order. It is terrific to have a backup player of his calibre in such good form.”

South Africa and Australia will play three T20Is and three ODIs this month and the next.

Australia T20I squad

T20I Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Australia ODI squad

Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.