Khan Replaces Gurney in KKR Squad

Fast bowler starred in CPL

Fast bowler Ali Khan has replaced the injured Harry Gurney in the Kolkata Knight Riders' squad for the 2020 Indian Premier League.

Khan was part of the Trinbago Knight Riders squad for the recent Caribbean Premier League. Trinbago won the title after beating the St Lucia Zouks in the final.

Right-armer Khan took eight wickets in as many matches, including two in the final.

He will become the first international cricketer from the United States of America to play in the IPL. He was capped at ODI level by the USA last year.

Khan has also represented the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL, Karachi Kings in the Pakistan Super League Vancouver Knights in the Global T20 Canada.

Who Else is in the KKR Squad?

The Knight Riders squad features several other players from abroad, including England captain Eoin Morgan, West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell, Australian spinner Chris Green and New Zealand fast bowler Lockie Ferguson.

Green and Russell were involved in the 2020 CPL. Morgan is currently playing ODI cricket against Australia.

IPL 2020 in the UAE

This year's Indian Premier League will be played in the United Arab Emirates. Sharjah, Dubai and Abu Dhabi will be the host cities. The UAE also hosted the tournament in 2014.

The IPL 2020 will be played without spectators, as a preventative measure against the spread of the coronavirus.

IPL Title Winners

The Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions. Mumbai have four IPL titles. They beat the Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 final. Chennai have three titles.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL twice. The Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won it once each.

The Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore have never won the IPL.

IPL 2020 Opening Fixtures

Mumbai and Chennai will contest the opening match of the IPL 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on 19 September.

The second match will be played between Delhi and Punjab at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on 20 September.

The third will see the Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad clash in Dubai on 21 September.

The Sharjah Cricket Stadium will host the fourth fixture between the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings on 22 September.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.