IPL 2021 Suspended

29 of 60 matches played so far

Feroz Shah Kotla Cricket Stadium New Delhi India

The 2021 Indian Premier League has suspended.

The postponement comes amid a rise in coronavirus cases in the tournament – and India in general.

Monday's fixture between the Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore in Ahmedabad had initially been postponed, after players Varun Chakravarthy and Sandeep Warrier tested positive for the virus.

Three members of the Chennai Super Kings' staff then tested positive.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad's Wriddhiman Saha and Delhi Capitals' Amit Mishra have also contracted the coronavirus.

Fewer than half of the scheduled 60 matches had been played at the time of the postponement.

BCCI Statement

“The Indian Premier League Governing Council and Board of Control for Cricket in India, in an emergency meeting, has unanimously decided to postpone IPL 2021 season, with immediate effect,” read a statement from the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

“The BCCI does not want to compromise on the safety of the players, support staff and the other participants involved in organising the IPL. This decision was taken keeping the safety, health and wellbeing of all the stakeholders in mind.

“These are difficult times, especially in India and while we have tried to bring in some positivity and cheer, however, it is imperative that the tournament is now suspended and everyone goes back to their families and loved ones in these trying times.

“The BCCI will do everything in its powers to arrange for the secure and safe passage of all the participants in IPL 2021.

“The BCCI would like to thank all the healthcare workers, state associations, players, support staff, franchises, sponsors, partners and all the service providers who have tried their best to organise IPL 2021 even in these extremely difficult times.”

IPL 2021 Standings

The Delhi Capitals were at the top of the eight-team standings at the time of the postponement. They had won six matches in eight attempts.

Chennai, Bangalore and the Mumbai Indians occupied second, third and fourth position, respectively. The Rajasthan Royals, Punjab Kings, Kolkata and Sunrisers Hyderabad were in fifth, sixth, seven and eighth spot, respectively.

Mumbai are the reigning champions. They beat Delh in the 2020 final. Mumbai have five IPL titles. Chennai have three. Kolkata have two. Hyderabad and Rajasthan have won each. Delhi, Bangalore and Punjab have never won the tournament.

PSL Postponement

Earlier this year, the Pakistan Super League was also postponed due to a spike in coronavirus cases in Pakistan. The tournament is scheduled to resume in June 2021.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.