10 Players Register for IPL Auction at Maximum Base Price

Nine others do the same

Indian cricket fans India

Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh is among 10 players who have registered for this month's Indian Premier League player auction at the maximum base price of maximum base price INR 2 crore.

Singh played for the Chennai Super Kings for several seasons. However, he was not part of their 2020 campaign.

The veteran off-spinner has taken the fifth-most wickets in the history of the tournament. He has 150 wickets. Only fast bowler Lasith Malinga, leg-spinners Amit Mishra and Piyush Chawla, and seamer Dwayne Bravo have more.

The other nine players who have registered at the maximum base price are:

  • Kedar Jadhav (India);
  • Glenn Maxwell (Australia);
  • Steven Smith (Australia);
  • Moeen Ali (England);
  • Sam Billings (England);
  • Liam Plunkett (England);
  • Jason Roy (England);
  • Mark Wood (England); and.
  • Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh).

The 2021 player auction list is out with a total of 292 cricketers set to go under the hammer in Chennai on 18 February. 1114 cricketers had initially registered for the auction. The final list was then pruned after the eight franchises submitted their shortlist of players,” read a statement from the tournament organisers.

“12 players are in the auction list with a base price of INR 1.5 crore. Hanuma Vihari and Umesh Yadav are the two Indian players in the list of 11 cricketers with a base price of INR 1 crore.

“A total of 164 Indian players, 125 overseas players and three players from associate nations will be up for grabs in the auction.”

Smith and Maxwell Released

Smith captained the Rajasthan Royals during the 2020 IPL. The franchise have since released him and appointed batsman Sanju Samson captain.

Maxwell was with the Kings XI Punjab. He has also been released. Maxwell captained the Melbourne Renegades in the recent Big Bash League in Australia.

Past IPL Champions

The Mumbai Indians are the reigning IPL champions. They have five titles. Mumbai beat the Delhi Capitals in the 2020 final. The Chennai Super Kings have three IPL titles.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have won the tournament twice. The Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals have won the competition once each.

The IPL currently includes eight teams. This will increase to 10 in 2022. The tournament was hosted in the United Arab Emirates last year.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.