Gujarat Titans Lose Roy for IPL 2022

England batsman withdraws

Jason Roy playing for England

England batsman Jason Roy has withdrawn from the Gujarat Titans' squad for the 2022 Indian Premier League.

Roy was bought by the Titans for a base price of INR 2 crore (USD 266,000) at last month's player auction.

He effectively cited bio-bubble fatigue for the withdrawal.

The Titans have not yet named a replacement.

He previously played for the Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.

Jason Roy Around the World

Roy recently represented the Quetta Gladiators in the Pakistan Super League. He has also played in other domestic T20 leagues around the world, including:

  • South Africa's Mzansi Super League
  • Bangladesh Premier League
  • Australia's Big Bash League
  • England's T20 Blast

Gujarat Titans Squad for IPL 2022

The Titans have recruited several overseas players, including New Zealand fast bowler Lockie Ferguson, South African batsman David Miller, Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan and Australian batsman Matthew Wade.

They will be captained by all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who has left the Mumbai Indians.

  1. Hardik Pandya (captain)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Rashid Khan
  4. Mohammed Shami
  5. Lockie Ferguson
  6. Abhinav Sadarangani
  7. Rahul Tewatia
  8. Noor Ahmad
  9. Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore
  10. Dominic Drakes
  11. Jayant Yadav
  12. Vijay Shankar
  13. Darshan Nalkande
  14. Yash Dayal
  15. Alzarri Joseph
  16. Pradeep Sangwan
  17. David Miller
  18. Wriddhiman Saha
  19. Matthew Wade
  20. Gurkeerat Singh
  21. Varun Aaron
  22. Bhardwaj Sai Sudarshan

More About the IPL 2022

The Titans are new to the IPL, which has grown from eight to 10 teams. The other new franchise is the Lucknow Super Giants.

This year's tournament is scheduled to start on 26 March and end on 29 May. The group stage fixtures will be played at four stadiums in Pune and Mumbai. The venues for the play-offs have not yet been confirmed.

The Chennai Super Kings are the reigning champions. They beat the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2021 final. Chennai have four IPL titles. The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the IPL with five titles. Kolkata have won the IPL twice.

The Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore have never won the IPL.

This will be the 15th edition of the IPL, which started in 2008. The Rajasthan Royals won the first edition. They, however, have not claimed a title since.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.