Deepak Chahar appreciates T20I Performance of the Year award

Seamer rewarded for six-for

The flag of India

Indian seamer Deepak Chahar was given the trophy for the T20I Performance of the Year at the International Cricket Council awards on Wednesday.

Chahar completed telling figures of six for seven in 3.2 overs against Bangladesh at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Jamtha, Nagpur, in November 2019.

The Player of the Match performance, which included a hat-trick, ensured a 30-run victory for India.

“I am very happy to receive this award. I would like to thank the ICC for this award and to the Board of Control for Cricket in India for giving me a chance to represent my country. That performance was very special for me. I got an opportunity to play for India after a long time. Taking six wickets conceding only seven runs was a dream performance for me and will always remain close to my heart,” said Chahar.

The 27-year-old Chahar is in contention for a berth in India's squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. Unibet have India priced at 4.50 to win the 2020 T20 World Cup.

India won the inaugural World Twenty20 (since renamed the T20 World Cup) in South Africa in 2007. They have been pooled with England, South Africa, Afghanistan and two qualifying teams for the 2020 T20 World Cup.

Chahar at the IPL

Prior to the T20 World Cup, Chahar will represent the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League. His workload will be managed amid recovery from a back injury.

“The stress fracture in my back is mainly due to playing excess matches. So I have to be a bit selective now. Or else I won't be able to survive,” he said earlier this year.

“My objective is to obviously keep performing better, but I will also be doing the required training and exercises to regain my lost pace. Since I was playing continuously, I have lost two to three kilometres of pace.”

The Chennai Super Kings have on the IPL three times. They lost last year's final to the Mumbai Indians. Mumbai have won the IPL on four occasions. They are captained by batsman Rohit Sharma, who was named the ICC ODI Player of the Year on Wednesday.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.