Bangar Named RCB Batting Consultant

Previously worked with KXIP

England vs India fans Headingley

The Royal Challengers Bangalore have hired former Test cricketer Sanjay Bangar as a batting consultant ahead of the 2021 Indian Premier League.

Bangar will work alongside Bangalore head coach Simon Katich, batting and spin-bowling coach Sridharan Sriram, bowling coach Adam Griffith and strength and conditioning coach Shankar Basu.

“We are delighted to welcome Sanjay to the RCB family as a batting consultant. Welcome aboard,” read a social media post from the franchise.

The 48-year-old Bangar was with the Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers before retiring as an IPL player. He has since worked with the Kings XI Punjab and Kochi Tuskers Kerala coaching staff. He was also India's batting coach from 2014 to 2019.

“Delighted to add a coach of Sanjay's experience to our existing coaching team led by Simon,” said RCB director of cricket operations Mike Hesson.

“Sanjay's role as batting consultant will include working with our existing squad in camps in Bengaluru leading up to our full squad pre-IPL camp.

“We are very fortunate at RCB to now have Sanjay join Sriram and Simon as batting coaches who can offer superb knowledge and experience to our playing squad throughout the IPL.”

RCB's Retained Players

South African batsman AB de Villiers and Australian leg-spinner are among the players retained by Bangalore for the IPL 2021.

  • Virat Kohli
  • AB de Villiers
  • Devdutt Padikkal
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Washington Sundar
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Josh Phillipe
  • Pavan Deshpande
  • Shahbaz Ahmed
  • Adam Zampa
  • Kane Richardson

Released Players

The franchise has released several players, too, including Australian batsman Aaron Finch and England all-rounder Moeen Ali.

  • Chris Morris
  • Shivam Dube
  • Aaron Finch
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Dale Steyn
  • Moeen Ali
  • Parthiv Patel
  • Pawan Negi
  • Isuru Udana
  • Gurkeerat Mann

RCB are captained by Indian batsman Virat Kohli. They have never won the IPL. Bangalore have played and lost three finals.

The Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions. They have won the title five times. The Chennai Super Kings have won the tournament three times. The Knight Riders have won it twice. The Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals have a title each.

The player auction for the IPL 2021 will take place on 18 February.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.