Australia Drop Wade for South Africa Tests

Sangha in T20I squad for NZ Series

Matthew Wade

Batsman Matthew Wade has been left out of Australia's squad for March 2021's Test series against South Africa.

Wade managed 173 runs in eight innings during the recent Test series against India.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine has been retained as captain.

Uncapped seamer Mark Steketee has been named in the squad.

Matthew in our view hasn't done enough, over probably quite a few Test matches now,” said Cricket Australia‘s national selector Trevor Hohns.

“I'm not being unfair to him, he would recognise that fact as well. He's holding down a batting position at number five, sure he put his hand up to have a crack up the top.

“But holding down a specialist batting position he hasn't quite done enough. As a senior player we expect a little bit more.”

Australia Squad for South Africa Tests

  • Tim Paine (captain)
  • Pat Cummins (vice-captain)
  • Sean Abbott
  • Alex Carey
  • Cameron Green
  • Marcus Harris
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Travis Head
  • Moises Henriques
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Michael Neser
  • James Pattinson
  • Will Pucovski
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Mark Steketee
  • Mitchell Swepson
  • David Warner

Wade, however, has been included in the squad for February's T20I series against New Zealand. Wade was in good form for the Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League recently.

Uncapped leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha, who is representing the Sydney Thunder in the BBL, has also been named in the T20I squad.

Other stars of the BBL, including the Sydney Sixers' Josh Philippe, Perth Scorchers' Andre Tye and Melbourne Stars' Marcus Stoinis, have also been included.

“When presented with the challenging task of selecting two concurrent Australian men's squads for overseas tours, we picked our first-choice Test squad given the importance of the proposed series against South Africa,” added Hohns.

“It is testament to the depth of Australian cricket that the national selection panel has been able to select two Australian men's international squads of such quality.”

Australia Squad for New Zealand T20Is

  • Aaron Finch (captain)
  • Matthew Wade (vice-captain)
  • Ashton Agar
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Ben McDermott
  • Riley Meredith
  • Josh Philippe
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Kane Richardson
  • Daniel Sams
  • Tanveer Sangha
  • D'Arcy Short
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Ashton Turner
  • Andrew Tye
  • Adam Zampa

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.