Australia confirm India tour in October

Tour had been in doubt

Virat Kohli signs autographs India

Cricket Australia have confirmed India will tour for three T20Is, as many ODIs and four Tests later this year.

The tour had been in doubt because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The three T20Is will be played in mid-October 2020. The Test series will start in early December. The ODI leg of the tour will start in mid-January 2021.

The Indian Premier League, which was postponed earlier this year, will likely be played between Australia and India's T20Is and Tests.

Australia vs India schedule

  • First T20I: 11 October, Brisbane
  • Second T20I: 14 October, Canberra
  • Third T20I: 17 October, Adelaide
  • First Test: 3 December, Brisbane
  • Second Test: 11 December, Adelaide
  • Third Test: 26 December, Melbourne
  • Fourth Test: 3 January, Sydney
  • First ODI: 12 January, Perth
  • Second ODI: 15 January, Melbourne
  • Third ODI: 17 January, Sydney

“While acknowledging the difficulty in navigating a global pandemic, we are nonetheless encouraged by the progress Australia is making in combatting the coronavirus and the positive impact that is having on our ability to host an exciting summer of cricket in 2020-21,” said Cricket Australia chief executive officer Kevin Roberts.

“We know that circumstances or events beyond our control could mean that the final schedule potentially may look different to the one released today, but we'll be doing everything we can to get as much international cricket in as possible this summer. We will communicate any changes to the schedule if or when they are required.

“We are engaged in ongoing discussions with federal and state governments, our venues and the touring nations to continually understand and monitor the situation in front of us, which is evolving every day. We'll continue to act in accordance with public health advice and government protocols to ensure the safety of the public, players and support staff.”

Australia fixtures include hosting New Zealand and West Indies

Roberts also confirmed an ODI series against Zimbabwe in August, T20I series with the West Indies in October, one-off Test against Afghanistan in November and limited-overs series against New Zealand in January and February.

“We are working closely with the Board of Control for Cricket in India to deliver the eagerly anticipated tours, and we are looking forward to staging the important series against the New Zealand sides. These are in addition to the scheduled Test against Afghanistan and a T20 series against West Indies,” he added.

Australia's confirmed fixtures for 2020-21

Opposition Date Venue
Zimbabwe (ODI) 9 August TBC
Zimbabwe (ODI) 12 August TBC
Zimbabwe (ODI) 15 August Townsville
West Indies (T20I) 4 October Townsville
West Indies (T20I) 6 October Cairns
West Indies (T20I) 9 October Gold Coast
India (T20I) 11 October Brisbane
India (T20I) 14 October Canberra
India (T20I) 17 October Adelaide
Afghanistan (Test) 21 November Perth
India (Test) 3 December Brisbane
India (Test) 11 December Adelaide
India (Test) 26 December Melbourne
Indi (Test) 3 January Sydney
India (ODI) 12 January Perth
India (ODI)  15 January Melbourne
India (ODI)  17 January Sydney
New Zealand (ODI) 26 January Adelaide
New Zealand (ODI) 29 January Canberra
New Zealand (ODI) 31 January Hobart
New Zealand (T20I) 2 February Sydney

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.