Archer, Buttler, Wood Back for Australia Series

Willey, Vince, Gregory left out

Jos Buttler England vs India ODI

Wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler and fast bowlers Mark Wood and Jofra Archer have been included in England's squads for this month's limited-overs series against Australia.

Buttler, Wood and Archer did not play in the recent T20I series against Pakistan.

All-rounder Lewis Gregory, left-arm seamer David Willey and batsman James Vince have been overlooked for the ODI and T20I squads.

Root Reason

Test captain Joe Root was omitted from the T20I squad, but included for the ODIs.

I don't think any door is closed to Joe,” said England and Wales Cricket Board national selector Ed Smith.

“He's a brilliant cricketer, an outstanding man. He's also England's Test captain. And at the moment we are setting up in a particular way as an XI in T20 cricket, and Joe's not in that.

“He plays so much cricket, he gives so much to England every time he plays, and the decision is that it's not right for him that we have him in the squad if he's not likely to be starting.

“That could easily change. I think we've all seen that Joe's an exceptionally adaptable and outstanding batsman, and he could easily come back into the reckoning. But at the moment that's where it stands.”

Willey Explanation

Willey impressed in late July and early August 2020's ODIs against Ireland. He claimed a five-wicket haul in the first match and struck a half-century in the third – and was named player of the series.

“It is of course extremely disappointing from David's point of view. He's playing good cricket and still has ambitions to be in all the England white-ball sides. But that's one of the unfortunate consequences of having a lot of strength in depth,” added Smith.

“Sometimes players who've done very well even recently, still can't find a place in the squad and that's the situation with David. Everything he achieved against Ireland has been noted, his performances over a number of years of course are well understood by the selectors. But in this instance, we are giving opportunities to other people.”

England ODI and T20I Squads for Australia Series

England ODI Squad England T20I Squad
Eoin Morgan (captain) Eoin Morgan (captain)
Moeen Ali Moeen Ali
Jofra Archer Jofra Archer
Jonny Bairstow Jonny Bairstow
Sam Billings Sam Billings
Tom Banton Tom Banton
Jos Buttler Jos Buttler
Sam Curran Sam Curran
Tom Curran Tom Curran
Joe Root Joe Denly
Adil Rashid Dawid Malan
Chris Woakes Adil Rashid
Mark Wood Chris Jordan
Mark Wood
Reserves Reserves
Joe Denly Liam Livingstone
Saqib Mahmood Saqib Mahmood

England v Australia ODI and T20I Series Dates

England and Australia will play three T20Is at the Rose Bowl in Southampton from 4 to 8 September 2020.

Three ODIs will follow at Old Trafford in Manchester from 11 to 16 September.

New title

Jonhenry dedicates his global gaming knowledge to the iGaming industry. He produces content about cricket, in addition to playing and training.