Markram, Rutherford, Dwarshuis Join IPL 2021

Woakes, Bairstow, Malan out

Aiden Markram plays a shot for South Africa

South Africa's Aiden Markram, West Indies' Sherfane Rutherford and Australia's Ben Dwarshuis have joined teams for the remainder of the 2021 Indian Premier League.

Batsman Markram will play for the Punjab Kings as a replacement for England batsman Dawid Malan. Markram has been in solid form for the Proteas in the ongoing T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Dwarshuis has replaced England all-rounder Chris Woakes at the Delhi Capitals. Seamer Dwarshuis has experience at international level and in the Big Bash League.

Rutherford will join the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the absence of England batsman Jonny Bairstow. Batsman Rutherford is with the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the ongoing Caribbean Premier League. The Patriots have reached the semifinals stage of the CPL 2021.

The IPL has lost several England and Australian stars to international commitments and travel restrictions.

Full List of IPL 2021 Replacements

IPL Team Replaced Player Replacement Player
Punjab Kings Dawid Malan Aiden Markram (South Africa)
Sunrisers Hyderabad Jonny Bairstow Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies)
Delhi Capitals Chris Woakes Ben Dwarshuis (Australia)
Royal Challengers Bangalore Adam Zampa Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)
Royal Challengers Bangalore Kane Richardson George Garton (England)
Royal Challengers Bangalore Daniel Sams Dushmanthan Chameera (Sri Lanka)
Royal Challengers Bangalore Finn Allen Tim David (Singapore)
Rajasthan Royals Jofra Archer Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)
Rajasthan Royals Jhye Richardson Adil Rashid (England)
Punjab Kings Riley Meredith Nathan Ellis (Australia)
Rajasthan Royals Andrew Tye Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa)
Kolkata Knight Riders Pat Cummins Tim Southee (New Zealand)
Rajasthan Royals Ben Stokes Evin Lewis (West Indies)
Rajasthan Royals Jos Buttler Oshane Thomas (West Indies)


IPL 2021 Restart

The IPL 2021 was suspended in May. It will relocate from India to Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates for September's resumption.

The Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will play the first match of the resumption. Mumbai and Chennai are the most successful teams in the history of the tournament.

Mumbai have five titles. Chennai have three. Mumbai are the reigning champions. They beat Delhi in the 2020 final.

Kolkata have won the IPL twice. Hyderabad and Rajasthan have won title each. Bangalore, Punjab and Delhi have never won the IPL.

New title

Jonhenry is a cricket nut. He has written about the game for several years and knows more about South African cricket - club cricket, in particular - than most. He has been published on most reputable cricket sites and, nowadays, devotes his knowledge of the global game to the iGaming industry. When he is not producing content about cricket, Jonhenry is playing, watching or coaching it. If not that, he's reading about the game or administrating his local cricket club.