2020-21 Ashes Series to Start on 8 December

Brisbane to host first Test

David Warner in action for Australia

Australia and England will contest the Ashes Test series from 8 December 2020 to 18 January 2021.

Whether spectators will be allowed to attend the matches amid the coronavirus pandemic remains in the balance.

“In a perfect world, we would welcome England fans back to these shores for a summer of singing and sportsmanship,”said Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia interim chief executive officer Nick Hockley.

“Of course, we will be guided by the Australian government on all things related to international travel. We are absolutely thrilled to announce our fixtures for the 2021-22 summer of cricket.

“The lessons learned from successfully delivering a safe summer in '20-21 gives us confidence on what we're able to achieve, and we're all hoping for a summer of full crowds and an Ashes atmosphere we're all accustomed to.

“The Ashes is one of the great global sporting rivalries and seems to grow ever larger with each series and generation. We cannot wait to host England over five Tests this summer.

The most recent Ashes series was a remarkable contest that captured the imagination of the entire cricketing world and I expect this summer to be no different.”

Brisbane, Adelaide and Melbourne will host the first, second and third Test, respectively.

Tests four and five will be played in Sydney and Perth, respectively.

“An Ashes series in Australia is a global highlight of the cricketing calendar and is always a focus series for England teams,” added England and Wales Cricket Board chief executive officer Tom Harrison.

“It promises to be a highly competitive and close contest with teams in both series evenly matched. I have little doubt that the rivalry and drama will once again capture the interest of sports lovers across the globe.”

Australia are the reigning Ashes champions. They drew 2019's series with England. The Australians won the 2017 series, though.

Men's Ashes schedule

  • First Test: 8-12 December 2020, Brisbane
  • Second Test: 16-20 December 2020, Adelaide
  • Third Test: 26-30 December 2020, Melbourne
  • Fourth Test: 5-9 January 2021, Sydney
  • Fifth Test: 14-18 January 2021, Perth

Women's Ashes schedule

  • Only Test: 27-30 January 2021, Canberra
  • First T20I: 4 February 2021, Sydney
  • Second T20I: 6 February, Sydney
  • Third T20I: 10 February, Adelaide
  • First ODI: 13 February, Adelaide
  • Second ODI: 16 February, Melbourne
  • Third ODI: 19 February, Melbourne

New title

Jonhenry is a cricket nut. He has written about the game for several years and knows more about South African cricket - club cricket, in particular - than most. He has been published on most reputable cricket sites and, nowadays, devotes his knowledge of the global game to the iGaming industry. When he is not producing content about cricket, Jonhenry is playing, watching or coaching it. If not that, he's reading about the game or administrating his local cricket club.